Mimi Screams!











{January 31, 2009}   Berkeley Social Psychology Webcast

I just finished watching a webcast of a social psychology class at UC Berkely and it was awsome. Maybe this is because I am a geek.  But I found that the lectures were available for free online so I tuned into lecture #1- Introduction  to social psychology. I found it to be quite fascinating and the proffessor to be adorably geeky in his own fascination of his subject. Nothing is more wonderful to me that a person who is passionate about what they do. He was also kind of cute and bore a vague (I said vague!) resemblence to Kirk Cameron. I learned a lot during this lecture, not the least of which is that I should be trying to date proffessors and college instructors. This should have been a no-brainer (no pun intended) maybe because it’s no secret that I like intellegent men. But there is something about acedemia and the passion for it that really draws me in. That passion for learning, experimenting and the crazy minutae of the subject that you just love.

The class has met 4 times so far and the next one is on Tuesay, so I guess I better catch up! The instructor’s name is Robb Willer (what is with the two b’s?) and I’m thinking of looking to see if he has a web page of his own so I can become an acedemic groupy!

The class was called Social Psychology: Self and Society. I realize I’m quite scattered on this. I just have so much I want to say and include. I love psych/soc, smart guys and Berkeley so what can I say. I hit the trifecta! This video is 58 minute and 26 seconds long. It’s a real actual class. But it was well worth it for me, and will be for you to if you are a geek for psychology and sociology too.

My favorite thing that he said, and I’m not exactly sure why, other than it was just as awome use of vocabulary, because it had more to do with science and astronomy than psychology or sociology but in any event it was “geocentric or heliocentric model of the universe.”   I won’t lie to you. I wanted to jump his bones right then and there.

Teaching is so sexy.

A link: http://webcast.berkeley.edu/course_details_new.php?seriesid=2009-B-81852&semesterid=2009-B



Matt Katz says:

The second b is something he started doing in High School. There was also a silent 3 in there at one point I think.

Good luck!



[…] The group of misfits I grew up with has turned out pretty well. One of them, Robb Willer was my debate partner for a while. He’s gone on to be a professor at Berkeley. Robb won the Golden Apple award for being an awesome teacher. How awesome? Robb’s got intellectual groupies! […]



Leave a comment

et cetera